30 Mars and Prayer

All Show Notes: http://www.flighttrainingpodcast.wordpress.com

Special Thanks for This Episode:

Richard Foster, Celebration of Discipline, 1998

Scripture taken from The Holy Bible, New International Version®. Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™. Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

Tim Urban, How and Why Spacex will Colonize Mars, https://waitbutwhy.com/2015/08/how-and-why-spacex-will-colonize-mars.html/3, August 16, 2015

Music used under Creative Commons. Something Elated by Broke For Free. http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Broke_For_Free/Something_EP/Broke_For_Free_-_Something_EP_-_05_Something_Elated

This Episode Show Notes

Mars and Prayer

Episode 30

Approach prayer as something you are learning:

“It was liberating to me to understand that prayer involved a learning process. I was set free to question, to experiment, even to fail, for I knew I was learning.” (Foster, p.36)

Lots of ways to learn, but one to focus on this week: learn from experts. Story of Elon Musk knowing nothing about rockets to starting SpaceX

“To supplement his reading, Musk asked a lot of questions of a lot of people. (Rocket expert Jim) Cantrell, who calls Musk “by far the single smartest person that I have ever worked with,” says that Musk “hired as many of my colleagues in the rocket and spacecraft business that were willing to consult with him” and that “it was as if he would suck the experience out of them.” (Urban)

How does this relate to prayer:

“As I was learning I sought out persons who seemed to experience greater power and effectiveness in prayer than I and I asked them to teach me everything they knew.” (Foster, p.37)

Challenge: This week, go to someone like Foster describes and ask them to teach you everything they know about prayer.